Your ticket may include up to 5 violations labeled A through E. The violations may be civil and criminal. Be sure you read both sides of your ticket and this page.
Civil traffic violations may be paid on or before the court date on your ticket without having to appear in court; however, if the court does not receive your payment prior to your court date, and you do not appear on your court date, then your driver's license may be suspended.
If you have any criminal/criminal traffic violations you must appear in court on the date and time on your ticket. Your failure to appear may result in a warrant for your arrest.
The following persons must appear in court on the date and time on the ticket:
- Persons with any criminal or criminal traffic violations on their ticket.
- Persons who receive a ticket for a violation not on the enclosed civil traffic violations list (PDF).
Please wait 14 business days and then contact the court for more information.
Paying Civil Violations on Your Ticket
- Visit the Arizona Court Pay website and enter your complaint number in the citation field.
In person/by phone:
- You may pay in person/by phone on or before your court date with the Prescott Valley Court, Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
- If you do not want a hearing and wish to admit to the violation(s) and pay by mail, then follow the instructions on the civil traffic violations list form below. You must make sure the court receives your payment on or before your court date.
Please note: If you have been cited for A.R.S. § 28-645A3A (red light violation), or if you are under age 18 (1st violation) and are cited for any moving violation, and are found responsible, or plead responsible, you will be required to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS) by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) pursuant to law. If you are eligible for Defensive Driving School (DDS) and complete a class, the violation will be dismissed and you will not be subject to the requirement to attend TSS.
Civil Traffic Violations List
- Listed in the civil traffic violations list (PDF) are some of the common violations together with the sanction amounts.
- If the violation code on your ticket is not listed in the civil traffic violations list (PDF), then you must appear in court on the date and time on your ticket.
- If proof is required to reduce the sanction, then you need to photocopy the civil traffic violations list (PDF) and mail it along with a copy of your ticket and the reduced sanction amount and other amounts specified above.
Attending Defensive Driving School (DDS)
NEW!! EFFECTIVE 9/1/2019: If you hold a commercial driver's license you may now attend a defensive driving course for eligible violations received while driving a non-commercial motor vehicle.
For a civil traffic violation you may be eligible to attend DDS. Eligibility is 1 year from violation date to violation date. Upon completion of DDS the violation will be dismissed. Criminal traffic violations do not qualify for Defensive Driving School.
If you complete this class points will not be assessed to your Motor Vehicle Record. You may attend any Arizona Supreme Court certified school in the state of Arizona. The Court does accept online/internet classes. In order to determine your eligibility and/or to sign up for DDS, contact any certified Arizona defensive driving school.
You must complete the class at least 7 days before your appearance/arraignment court date. To access information regarding Defensive Driving Schools you may call the toll free telephone number (1-888-334-5565) or visit the website.
Requesting a Hearing (Civil Traffic Only)
For civil traffic violations, you may deny responsibility on or before the date and time on your ticket, by complying with Rule 10(B), AZCvTrP, "the defendant may deny responsibility by appearing in person or by notifying the court in writing. The defendant may, at the same time, tender the civil sanction listed in the court's deposit schedule for civil traffic violations to insure that no driver's license suspension will result from failure to appear."
If you choose to have a hearing you no longer qualify for DDS.
Your written denial of responsibility must be received on or before your court date. If timely received, your plea will be entered and you will be notified of the date, time and location of your court hearing. If not timely received, a default judgment may be entered against you, a civil sanction imposed, and your privilege to drive suspended.
Appear on your court date.